31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 11: Polka Dots

I gave my nails a break for two days and am back for the second category of the 31-day nail art challenge! Unlike the first 10-day block of the challenge that dealt with colours, the next block deals with patterns. Today’s prompt is polka dots. Ever my favourite pattern, I decided to go with a gradient effect that uses a layering technique with jelly nail polish; this is also known as a pond manicure.

I started off with base coat, then a coat of Sally Hansen CSM in Dark Hue-Mor, a deep navy blue. I then applied a single line of dots with a white polish (Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in White On). I let this dry, then applied a coat of navy jelly polish (my Inky Midnight Blue frankenpolish). Next, I applied another line of dots above the first with the white polish, let it dry, then applied another coat of the navy jelly polish. I repeated this for a total of 5-6 times (depending on the length of the nail) to achieve the gradient effect. Here’s a close-up:

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly. Secondly, if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I usually add new nail art pictures to the gallery. I will not be doing this with the weekly challenge. These posts will all be available under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016], and will not be displayed in the gallery.

4 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 11: Polka Dots

Tell me what you think!

