31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 1: Red

I’ve been on the lookout for some kind of weekly nail art challenge. I know of the 31-day challenge made popular by Chalkboard Nails and The Nailasauras, which typically takes place in September each year and uses a series of daily prompts that serve to inspire the manicure of the day. A daily nail challenge is a bit intense for me; I usually do mine only once a week, often taking the polish off right afterwards. So, I was thrilled to stumble upon Polish Etc’s  weekly version of the original 31-day challenge! Because I’m joining in late – they started in March – I will be doing one every couple of days until I catch up, starting today. Once I’ve caught up, I’ll do one weekly.

The prompt for day #1 of the challenge is “red”. That is a challenge for me, because (gasp!) I’m not a red cosmetics kinda girl at all! In fact, the only time I have ever worn red nail polish (and also lipstick, for that matter) was for my wedding! Anyway, if that’s the challenge, then so be it. This was also my first time using a nail striper brush somewhat successfully, even though my lines are far from steady. I found that the first set of lines I applied (in black) turned out okay & were easy to draw with the brush. Aligning the white lines alongside the black ones was quite a task! Not to mention, the entire manicure reminded me of the Swiss flag and a friend I showed the pictures to thought the same! If I had more patience, I would probably have redone the red challenge, but I’ve decided to go with it. This whole experience is about learning and having fun, so I’ll own it; I’m learning to use the striper brush, right? 🙂

Now for particulars: I used two coats of Maybelline Color Show in Paint the Town (the only red nail polish I own, and I’m not even sure why!), and striped with Wet n Wild in French White Crème and Black Crème. I also tried to even out the black lines somewhat with my trusty black Sharpie marker! I finished off with a coat of Revlon matte top coat.

Some logistics: If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, just post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly.

Secondly, if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I usually add new nail art pictures to the gallery. I will not be doing this with the weekly challenge. These posts will all be available under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016], and will not be displayed in the gallery.

Let me know what you think! And if possible, join me! The next prompt is “orange”.

One thought on “31DC2016Weekly 1: Red

Tell me what you think!

