Nail Care · Nails

DIY Cuticle Oil 2

Hello, folks! I finally ran out of my DIY cuticle oil and made a fresh batch using a slightly different recipe. While my nails have benefited greatly from the old recipe, this new one has really brought new life to my nails, which were in sorry condition after all the nail art I have been indulging in. The only change I have made is to use a mix of almond and castor oil as the base. If you have seen the old recipe, you will notice that I am also using a different blend of essential oils (EOs), but that’s largely for some olfactory variation. 🙂 I attribute the improved performance to castor oil, which happens to be my all-time favourite oil for everything!

20160729_162109

DIY Cuticle Oil Recipe 2

You will need:

  • Almond oil – 1 tbsp (about ½ fl oz or 15 ml)
  • Castor oil – 1 tbsp (about ½ fl oz or 15 ml)
  • Lavender EO – 6 drops
  • Tea tree EO – 3 drops
  • Lemon EO – 3 drops
  • An old nail polish bottle, cleaned out with acetone and washed with soap & water OR container of your choice

Mix all ingredients together. I find it easiest to pour half the amount of each oil into the bottle, add in the EOs, mix and then pour in the remaining oil.

Apply the oil to nails, cuticles and surrounding skin twice daily and massage lightly for a few seconds. I usually also swipe a little on the tips of my fingers, under the length of the nail. Rub the tips of fingers together to remove excess oil and/or rub onto your hands.

Each time you remove nail polish, whether you use acetone or non-acetone nail polish remover, it is good practice to wash your hands since removers can be very drying (read this for a gentle, moisturizing acetone remover tip). Follow up with a light swipe of cuticle oil all over your nails and cuticles. I have also found that my nails have gotten incredibly strong (by my old standards) over the four months of continuous use of cuticle oil. I am a clumsy person in general and am very skilled at banging into door frames and furniture at angles that you woudn’t think were possible! I cannot tell you how many times I have banged my nails into something and was certain that I had broken or at least chipped a nail, especially along the sides, but it just did not happen. What I can tell you is that this was never the case up until recently. 😀

Finally, a few little cuticle oil related tips/hacks:

  • Before you embark upon painting your nails, apply a light coat of cuticle oil to the surface of your nails and on the surrounding skin. Rub it in, and then let it soak in for a couple of minutes. When you are ready to begin painting, wipe your nails gently with some vinegar or nail polish remover to get rid of excess oils. Ensuring that your nails are saturated with oil before applying polish ensures that the nails do not absorb any chemicals from the nail polish or base coat. The vinegar or nail polish remover removes excess oils from the surface, ensuring that the base coat & polish adhere to the nail for a long-lasting manicure.
  • The nail is made up of layers of keratin, and excessive absorption of water weakens them and causes them to swell. On the same principles as the tip above, right before doing a large batch of dishes or showering (or basically doing anything that will expose your nails to water over a long period of time), apply a layer of cuticle oil to your nails and rub it in. While this may seem counterintuitive because you’ll probably just be washing off the oils, this actually protects your nails by saturating them and thereby prevents them from absorbing too much water.
  • To make clean-up easier when you are doing nail art, leave the cuticles and skin around the nails covered in a layer of cuticle oil. This allows you to wipe off any excess polish with a q-tip. This hack works for stamping, but if you are using a messier method such as sponging, this will possibly not be sufficient protection (I am yet to try this for sponging; so let me know in the comments if you have tried this!).
  • After you are done painting your nails, let dry for a couple of minutes until it is dry to the touch. Then, apply a coat of oil all over the surface of the painted nail, using a light touch to ensure that you don’t smudge the polish. The oil makes the nail surface slick, so if you happen to ding your nail before the polish has dried, you can get away without a smudge/dent!

I hope you will find this recipe & the tips useful. Let me know how it works out if you try it!

 

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Cuticle Oil 2

Tell me what you think!

