31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 22: Inspired by a song

This week’s prompt for the 31DC is “inspired by a song” & this sure was challenging! I eventually decided to go with the song 99 Luftballons by Nena (also released in English as 99 Red Balloons), which was relatively easy to translate onto nails.

I started out with the “sky” background on all nails – a sandwich bag smoosh marble using two shades of blue, a white and a silver (Sally Hansen (SH) CSM in Style is Eternal, and SH Xtreme Wear in Breezy Blue, White On and Celeb City, respectively). Next, I drew the red balloons with red nail polish (Maybelline Color Show in Paint the Town) and a large dotting tool. Finally, I drew the strings with a black gel pen once all the nail polish had dried very well.

My dear husband totally pfft-ed at my use of a pen, rather than a striping brush, to make the strings. 😡 😕 But, no way was I about to ruin a few hours of nail work to put my questionable brush skills to the test! He also recommended I include the disclaimer that not all 99 balloons are pictured in this manicure, which by the way, he refuses to call anything but “mani”, correcting me each time I say the word!

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly. Check out my other looks for the weekly version of the 31-day challenge under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016].

4 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 22: Inspired by a song

Tell me what you think!

