Cooking · Edibles

Mixed Seafood with Glass Noodles

I have been having a busy week and was looking to make something simple & easy for dinner last night. I had also promised my friend that my next post would be a recipe. That made for the perfect opportunity to try something new, but simple enough that it could be whipped up in minutes, with almost no prep time. This one is a no-brainer; so easy that I may just be laughed off the blogosphere!

As I was preparing to make dinner last night, I noticed that I had some glass noodles in the pantry that I had completely forgotten about! The ones I used are made from mung beans and pea starch, but glass noodles can also be made from other starches, such as yam or potatoes. For my protein, I used a bag of assorted seafood, containing shrimp, cuttlefish, squid, octopus and mussels. If you don’t like seafood, you can substitute this with some other kind of fish, tofu or even chicken. Personally, I don’t much like the taste of chicken and glass noodles together, but, hey, it’s your dinner! I added in some snow peas because they compliment the seafood & noodles perfectly and add a beautiful crunch factor.

This recipe can very easily be made into a vegetarian one. Just use tofu or a full-bodied vegetable (I’m thinking eggplants) and vegetable stock for flavour. A final note before I get to the good stuff: the chicken stock I use already contains a sufficient amount of salt; if yours does not, remember to season accordingly.

So, here it is, simple as they come!

Glass noodles with assorted seafood

You will need:

  • Glass noodles – 100g (I bought a pack of 8 “cakes” of dried noodles, and used 2)
  • Assorted seafood – 340g or 1½ cups
  • Snow peas – 200g or just under 1 cup
  • Chicken stock – 2 cups
  • Oil – 2 tsp
  • Garlic – 2 cloves, finely chopped

How to make:

1. Heat the oil over medium heat. Add in the garlic and seafood, and fry for about 5 minutes. If the seafood releases too much water, turn up the heat until the water dries and then fry for 5 minutes.

2. Add the chicken stock and cook for 5 more minutes. There will quite a bit of liquid in the pot at the end of the 5 minutes.

3. Add in the snow peas, stir, then add the glass noodles. There is no need to boil the noodles separately; it will absorb the stock from the pan. Let simmer, covered, for 10 minutes or until the noodles are soft and translucent. If there is too much liquid in the pot, turn up the heat so that some of the water evaporates. I like this dish to have a good amount of the liquid remaining – it is chicken stock comingled with seafood flavour; what’s not to like? Once it has reached the right consistency, take it off the stove. Serve immediately & enjoy!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Mixed Seafood with Glass Noodles

Tell me what you think!

