31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 28: Inspired by a flag

Only three more weeks left of the 31DC Weekly! It sure has flown by; I can’t imagine how quickly it must pass for those doing the daily version… For the flag prompt, I really wanted to go with the colours of the flag of my country, which are red and green. It was rather challenging to do a manicure that didn’t end up looking Christmas-y! However, the manicure I ended up with does not scream red and green because the red is rather muted; overall I’m unsure whether this manicure is satisfactorily reflective of the flag colours… This is what I came up with:

For the ring and middle fingers and the thumb, I applied a coat of Sinful Colors in Gold Medal and then applied water decals; these were a DIY version following a tutorial. This was my first time doing this and was kind of a practice round for the tutorial prompt in two weeks’ time to see if it worked. The good news is that it does work, so I will be doing this again in two weeks. The bad news is that I still have a lot of learning to do in terms of technique! I’ll discuss the method in the upcoming post inspired by the tutorial. This picture shows the decals a little more clearly — you can see the flower on the middle finger is a little warped:

31DC2016Weekly - Flag 5

On the pinky and index fingers, I applied two coats of Sally Hansen CSM in On Pines and Needles, applied some dots with Sinful Colors in Gold Medal and top-coated with a matte top coat.

If you were wondering: Yes, I did take a Vogue Shot, as I like to call it:

31DC2016Weekly - Flag 4

Check out my other looks for the weekly version of the 31-day challenge under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016].

3 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 28: Inspired by a flag

Tell me what you think!

