31DC2017 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2017Weekly 8: Metallic

I’ll be glad to be done with posting metallic nails for this challenge. I don’t like wearing metallic polish as a base colour, but I stamp with them all the time. In fact, just a little while ago, I bought a few more foils from Color Club to stamp with. Yet, this is probably the fourth manicure I’ve done with the metallic prompt of the 31DC in mind, and the only one I could commit to. I’ll eventually post the others as well, but will probably not get around to it in the next couple of weeks. I apologize if any of the pictures are blurry; in this past week, I’ve had a lot of caffeine and very little sleep, and my hands have been extra-shaky.

31DC2017Weekly Metallic 231DC2017Weekly Metallic 1

The base grey colour is one of the first frankenpolishes I ever made (see this for details), made from a taupe Wet n Wild polish that made my skin look completely dead. The beauty of mixing polish colours is that you can get shades that best complement your skin tone. On my index finger, I’m wearing three coats of Zoya Pixie Dust in Godiva and no top coat. On the middle & ring fingers, I stamped using Moyra Damask Drapery (plate #11) and Maybelline Bold Gold. I topped it all off with some quick dry top coat & then Essie Matte About You. Here are some close-ups; you can see how I smudged my middle finger & had to cover it up with a V-half-moon!

Let me know what you think of this look! Do you wear metallic colours?

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media, and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2017weekly. Also, you can check out all my entries for the 31DC2017Weekly under the nail art tab at Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2017, my other nail art adventures at Nails → Nail Art → NOTW, or follow me on Instagram (@altercontroldelight) which I use exclusively for nail art.

12 thoughts on “31DC2017Weekly 8: Metallic

    1. So glad you like it & thank you! Most of my frankens were made through trial and error & I just keep tweaking until I like it. Just yesterday I found a bottle of Pure Ice polish that I absolutely hated but wasn’t able to return on time, and now I’m completely enamoured by the tweaked version! I took pictures, but it’s been a stressful couple of weeks so I haven’t had much time to post. It’s coming up soon!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rachelle, so glad you like it! This colour scheme has been a favourite of mine since childhood – the number of fights I’ve had with my mom because this was “a dull combination” for a child/teenager/young adult/whatever-age-I-am-now!

      I love this plate, and how amazingly-etched it is. I can’t get over how the little grooves showed up so well on some of those lines. I just recently bought a creative shop stamper, and I have to give due credit to that as well; nothing I own picks up these delicate lines as well as that.

      Like

Tell me what you think!

