31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 7: Black & White

A whole week of doing nails each day; whew! I normally do my nails once a week, with 3-4 days of off-time, and the thought of using nail polish remover each day is upsetting me! I know plenty of people do their nails every day or several times a week; I guess it’s just a matter of preference/precedence. My mindset might change with time, but as of now, this is uncharted territory. However, I got into the weekly version of the nail art challenge quite late, so I’ll try to power through until I catch up with the others.

As a quick side note: I read somewhere (cannot recall where) that applying a thin layer of cuticle oil all over the surface of your nails before applying nail polish helps prevent chemicals in the polish from being absorbed (just make sure to wipe it off with a q-tip before proceeding to apply the polish). I’ve been doing that for 2 days now, and I’ve noticed that my nails are less dry after I take off the polish.

Today’s prompt was black & white. I chose to do another dry brushing manicure, after two failed attempts at stamping (regular black nail polish for stamping just isn’t working out for me!)

The colours I used are Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Black Out, White On, Fuschia Power and Pink Satin, although the latter is barely visible.

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, just post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly.

Secondly, if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I usually add new nail art pictures to the gallery. I will not be doing this with the weekly challenge. These posts will all be available under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016], and will not be displayed in the gallery.

Tell me what you think!

