Nail Art · Nails · NOTW

NOTW: Dessert Sands

Hello, folks! I chopped off my long nails on a whim late last week, in the spirit of spring & new beginnings. I regretted it almost immediately, but am beginning to appreciate how I can be a little less careful in day-to-day activities now that I have much shorter nails. This manicure is the last one I did on my long nails earlier last week:

Dessert Sands 2Dessert Sands 1

I love how trippy the photos turned out, with the layered glitter making the middle two fingers look blurry! On these two fingers, I am wearing three coats of KBShimmer It’s Petrifying, a beautiful taupe glitter crelly. On the other fingers, I am wearing two coats of OPI Taupe-less Beach, one of my absolute favourite colours. I double-stamped over it with my DRK Nails Seasons plate (I cannot find a link for a seller in North America since the DRK Nails website is down), Sally Hansen CSM Dark Hue-mor, CND Vinylux Fine Vermillion and one of my Dollarama stamping polishes in yellow-gold. The latter has a foil finish and stamps wonderfully (see this post for more of these polishes for stamping). 

This manicure reminds me of a sprinkles on a cake, but the colours remind me of the desert. I have loved jelly sandwiches and glitter crellies ever since I first got into nail art, and these KBShimmer polishes sort of take me back to my roots.

How do you like this manicure? Let me know in the comments! Check out my other nail art adventures in the nail art gallery or under the nail art tab, or follow me on Instagram (@altercontroldelight) which I use exclusively for nail art.

6 thoughts on “NOTW: Dessert Sands

    1. Thank you, Lisa! I love the colour combination too, but don’t end up using it too often somehow. It does feel weird, but isn’t it a relief to wash dishes without being terrified of a nail bending? πŸ˜€

      I’ve had mine long for months at a stretch; normally I go back & forth. Not used to seeing my stubby fingers without the lengthening effect of the nails :-/

      Like

        1. Omg, that is life-changing! πŸ˜€ I agree abt having a larger canvas, but cannot say itching is a problem. I’ve always had crazy sharp nails, so even at this length, they’re enough for a pesky itch!

          Like

Tell me what you think!

