31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 8: Metallic

The stamping plates I ordered last month are finally here! I’m thrilled; reviews were mixed, with some people saying they worked like a charm, and others having difficulty picking up the images. Understandably, I was apprehensive and am happy to say that I’m in the former group. I haven’t tried out all the images yet, but the ones I have tried work perfectly well. Expect to see a lot of stamped lacy patterns in the coming weeks :-).

Today’s prompt is metallic. I’ve been meaning to do this manicure ever since I ordered these plates & I love it; I’m calling this my sari manicure!

For a very long time before my nail art enthusiasm took hold, this was one of the only two nail polishes I owned, and the only one I ever used – Sally Hansen CSM in Plum’s the Word :-). The base colour shows up as a brown/deep nude in the pictures, but is actually more of a deep mauve. I applied a matte top coat over the plum polish and then stamped my nails. The metallic polish that I stamped with is also not quite as silver as it looks in the picture; it’s a beautiful, metallic pink colour (Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Pink Satin).

I was playing around with my photo editor and thought this manicure looked lovely in black & white:

20160628_131605

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly. Secondly, if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I usually add new nail art pictures to the gallery. I will not be doing this with the weekly challenge. These posts will all be available under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016], and will not be displayed in the gallery.

5 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 8: Metallic

Tell me what you think!

