31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 19: Galaxy Nails

This is it: I’ve finally caught up with the others doing the weekly version of the 31 DNAC. This is the last prompt I was lagging behind on, and tomorrow I’ll post this week’s prompt: watermarble nails.

I’ve been excited about today’s manicure for a while: galaxy nails. So much so, that I decided to do the next prompt (watermarble) first, just so I could wear the galaxy manicure for a few days. Even though I’ve been admiring this look on others for a while, this was my first attempt at doing it myself; I’m in love!

31DC2016Weekly - Galaxy 131DC2016Weekly - Galaxy 4

{Please excuse the gigantic “stars” I drew on each finger!}

For some reason, I had expected this process to be somewhat less time-consuming, but no matter; it was worth the time spent. For a change, I think my right (dominant) hand turned out better than my left. 😀

The base colour is Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Black Out. I sponged on the “galaxy” with Sally Hansen (SH) CSM in Pat On The Black, SH Xtreme Wear (XW) in Fuschia Power, SH Hard As Nails in Sturdy Sapphire and Wet n Wild in Bite the Bullet & French White Crème. I also used a glitter top coat (SH XW in Shine On). I bought the blue (Sturdy Sapphire) polish from the dollar store – my one & only dollar store nail polish. I don’t know if this is available elsewhere; the formula is extremely thin, but the colour is gorgeous – it gives a beautiful bluish-violet tinge to the black. I’m not sure whether this shows through in the pictures, but the blue made this look for me! Here’s a close-up:

31DC2016Weekly - Galaxy 2

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly. Secondly, if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I usually add new nail art pictures to the gallery. I will not be doing this with the weekly challenge. These posts will all be available under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016], and will not be displayed in the gallery.

2 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 19: Galaxy Nails

Tell me what you think!

