Nail Art · Nails · NOTW

NOTW: Frosty Roses

A belated Happy Valentine’s Day to you! I have a Valentine’s-appropriate manicure to share today; so what if I’m a day late?

While writing down the title for this post, I got confused between “frosty” and “frosted”. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, the word frosty can mean “covered or appearing as if covered with frost“, while frosted means “having undergone frosting”. I hope the pictures show why I’ve decided to go with the former.

frosty-roses-1frosty-roses-5

For this manicure, I used two of my Zoya Pixie Dust (PD) polishes β€” Lux and Vega. Both contain the larger, chunky, holographic hex glitter. I’ve been wanting to try out a gradient with PDs for a while now, and am so glad at how this worked out. I’m not sure if the traditional method of sponging to make a gradient works with these polishes; I did a quick search online for gradients using PDs, but could not find any that used a sponge. To make the gradient, I applied 2 coats of Lux to my entire nail, then two coats of Vega to the top third. Next, I placed a few drops of Lux on a Ziploc bag and mixed in a couple of drops of Vega to make an in-between colour, and applied that to the middle of my nail with a nail art brush to make it look like a gradient. Here’s an easy tutorial that shows how to do this.

Here’s a closer look at the texture in the sun. I just love how sparkly it is!

frosty-roses-3frosty-roses-4

Excuse the tip wear in these pictures; I wore the gradient for a full 5 days before I decided to take pictures for this blog. I always get a lot of tip wear regardless of what nail polish I pick or how much the wrap the tips, probably because I’m always either typing away at a keyboard or doing housework without gloves on.

For stamping, I used Wet ‘n Wild Black CrΓ¨me and Born Pretty plate BPL-029. I did not top coat it after stamping because I love the textured finish, and I’m happy to report that the stamping lasted for another good 3-4 days before I decided to change my nail polish. Tip wear aside, I was truly amazed at how firmly the stamping stayed on without top coat!

frosty-roses-2

Let me know what you think of this manicure in the comments! Check out my other nail art adventures in the nail art gallery or under the nail art tab, or follow me on Instagram (@altercontroldelight) which I use exclusively for nail art.

6 thoughts on “NOTW: Frosty Roses

Tell me what you think!

