Nail Art · Nails · NOTW

NOTW: Quilted Texture

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have a bunch of manicures that I never got around to posting & will be doing so in no particular order (hence the varying length of my nails!). I have today a manicure I wore just last week, that I absolutely love and could not wait to share!

quilted-texture-2quilted-texture-1

The two polishes are used for this manicure are Zoya Pixie Dust Waverly and China Glaze Combat Blue-ts, both of which I’ve been absolutely drooling over! I did the quilted design on my middle finger with striping tape, and did not apply top coat in order to preserve the matte & textured finishes of the two colours. Here’s an out-of-focus picture showing the gorgeous sparkle:

quilted-texture-3

I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with the China Glaze polish: it is such a gorgeous colour and the matte effect is fabulous, but boy do I hate applying this polish! It dries super fast (within seconds), dragging up layers at the lightest stroke of the brush. I normally apply thin coats of polish and try to use no more than 3 strokes per coat. Yet, I have never managed not to pull up polish when applying Combat Blue-ts. I’m hoping I will eventually learn how to work with this polish. This one is also a major stainer & I would strongly recommend at least two layers of base coat if you plan to wear this for a longer duration. Which may not be that much of problem, given how fast it starts to chip. In all fairness, matte nail polishes tend to dry out and chip faster in general, so I applied a coat of cuticle oil all over my painted nails everyday and was able to keep it on for 5 days with just a little tip wear. [Cuticle oil helps keep nail polish pliable, thereby minimizing chips & cracks.]

Finally, here’s my sad attempt at a Vogue-shot (what I call my photos with filters and/or props), ruined by how dry & wrinkly my fingers appear. I am looking forward to the end of winter, dry-hands-wise… As I often do, the prop I used in this picture is a brooch, but this is a special one I made for my mother myself using a pendant I picked up at some craft store or other. She wore it on her purse for a year or so, and now it has found its way back to me.

quilted-texture-5

Let me know what you think of this manicure in the comments! Check out my other nail art adventures in the nail art gallery or under the nail art tab, or follow me on Instagram (@altercontroldelight) which I use exclusively for nail art.

7 thoughts on “NOTW: Quilted Texture

Tell me what you think!

