31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 30: Inspired by a tutorial

Hello, folks! I’ve been terribly irregular with my blog posts this past month, and I apologize! I meant to write a special post for the half-year anniversary of this blog on September 22 (yay, I made it to six months!), but the day flew by and I just did not have the time… I will redeem myself starting next week 😀

This is the second to last post for the 31 day challenge. I actually did this way ahead of time, but just did not have the time or brain capacity to post. So, without further ado, here it is!

For this look, I made nail decals using cutouts from a magazine following this fabulous tutorial by Denise. I stumbled upon this tutorial rather accidentally as I was looking for tutorials on newsprint/magazine nail art. It appealed to me immediately, because creating nail art from patterns or pictures in magazines means the options are near-limitless! I picked up an Ikea catalogue in hope of finding a wide variety of images and I love how easy this turned out to be. There is a little bit of a learning curve; the first look I created using this technique ended up quite warped. This one was way more successful.

As my base layer, I used a single coat of Sally Hansen Insta Dri in Petal Pusher. On my thumb & pinkie finger, I topped that with a sparse coat of Revlon in Holographic Pearls. On the remaining fingers, I applied the decals.Let me know how you like this look & this method, and be sure to check out the video tutorial!

Check out my other looks for the weekly version of the 31-day challenge under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016].

2 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 30: Inspired by a tutorial

Tell me what you think!

