Nail Art · Nails · NOTW

NOTW: Re-creation of “Magic Polish’s” Mani

Hiya, folks! I’m back with another weekly mani, this time a re-creation of one by the immensely talented @magic.polish on Instagram. They are hosting a giveaway to celebrate reaching 10k followers, and this is my entry for the giveaway. Here it is, along with an inlay of their’s:

Neon Gradient Compare

To do this, I applied a base of white (Sally Hansen Xtremewear in White On) and then sponged on a gradient of coral, yellow & blue polish (Essie Stones and Roses, Sally Hansen Mellow Yellow and OPI Gelato On My Mind respectively). I stamped over the gradient using my Cheeky plate-05 (also known as Vaga) and Born Pretty black stamping polish. Finally, I applied a matte top coat (Essie matte top coat) because matte everything is (almost always) better. The pictures below show the non-matte version. Which do you think is better?

Neon Gradient 2Neon Gradient 3

Speaking of matte top coats, I recently watched this video by Simply Nailogical comparing many different matte top coats. Turns out, the one I had been using (Revlon) is the worst of the bunch. Call me ignorant, but until I watched this video, I didn’t even know how matte matte-nail polish actually could be, and thought the slight shine that Revlon left behind was normal! Anyway, I was almost out of my bottle of Revlon, so I grabbed the winner (spoiler alert: it’s Essie) and boy, is it a world of difference!

Let me know what you think of this manicure in the comments! Check out my other nail art adventures in the nail art gallery or under the nail art tab, or follow me on Instagram (@altercontroldelight) which I use exclusively for nail art.

5 thoughts on “NOTW: Re-creation of “Magic Polish’s” Mani

Tell me what you think!

