31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 23: Inspired by a movie

Last month, we went to a Cirque du Soleil show called Toruk, based on James Cameron’s movie, Avatar (and it was a-m-a-z-i-n-g!). I wanted to do this manicure for the show, but could not manage the time. So, for this week’s 31DC inspiration (movie), I chose Avatar. I went the Pandora-at-night route because I think it’s just so pretty! Unfortunately, it proved extremely difficult to take sharp pictures that captured the sparkle of the purple glitter; the nails kept going out of focus or becoming blurry because of the glitter. This is the best I could manage:

31DC2016Weekly - Movie 2

I wanted to highlight the Tree of Souls, Eywa, and the beautiful seeds. However, I later realized that I was thinking wispy seeds but drawing jellyfish… Ah, well… At least my “seeds” look like the purple jelly-fishy things behind the seeds from the picture… It’s Pandora after all; anything goes! Also, I now know that I can draw jelly fish — silver lining right there!

I’m so sad that I was not able to capture this manicure as beautifully in the photos as I think it looked in real life. I basically did galaxy nails on each finger over a base of Sally Hansen (SH) CSM in On Pines and Needles, sponging on SH Xtreme Wear (XW) in Fuschia Power and White On, and Wet n Wild Megalast in Bite the Bullet and I Need A Refresh-Mint. I applied a few coats of purple-blue glitter on each nail (Sinful Colors in Frenzy). Next, I drew the Tree of Souls on the thumb with the same fuschia, along with SH CSM in Pat on the Black* and SH XW in Pink Satin. Finally, I drew the jelly fish, aka the seeds, with the mint and white polishes mentioned above. I also applied some blue glitter to the jelly fish for luminescence, but this does not quite show up.

{*My bottle of SH CSM in Pat on the Black is a vibrant deep violet, rather than the almost burgundy-purple that it originally comes packaged as, because I have added a lot of blue and white to customize the colour to my liking. I will be updating my frankenpolish post with details soon.}

31DC2016Weekly - Movie 431DC2016Weekly - Movie 5

I did not realize there was so much bubbling on the thumb until I posted this gigantic photo of the thumb! I recently bought a Pro-Fx quick-drying top coat, and I have read in reviews that bubbling is a definite problem with this one for some people. I guess I’ll have to use it a couple more times before I can pass judgement.

All in all, I was very happy with this look, despite the mistakes. There are those manicures that I do and have a lot of fun doing, but would not wear out. This, on the other hand, I would totally wear. Let me know what you think of this manicure!

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly. Check out my other looks for the weekly version of the 31-day challenge under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016].

3 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 23: Inspired by a movie

Tell me what you think!

