31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 27: Inspired by artwork

This was a very difficult challenge for me. I’ve been going through a bit of a slump regarding nail art over the last couple of days and have been procrastinating on doing this one. I accidentally happened to stumble upon a picture I really liked (shown as the background below), but I had a ridiculously difficult time getting my watermarble to resemble the picture. It could be my relative inexperience with watermarbles, but it took me a while to figure out technicalities like the design to draw and the order in which to drop colours into the water that would result in the desired look! I initially planned to do this on two nails, but I could not for the life of me get them to look cohesive so I eventually went with this look, which I think actually looks better than the intended one:

31DC2016Weekly - Artwork 1

Despite the hurdles, I love how this turned out. I was so sick of going through the process over and over again that eventually I just slapped some nail polish on all fingers without basecoat. As a result, I had to take this off soon afterwards, but I am going to do this again soon and hopefully get to wear it for a little longer! Here’s a close-up:

31DC2016Weekly - Artwork 2

On the thumb, index finger & pinky, I’m wearing two coats of Wet n Wild in Bite The Bullet. On the ring finger, I’m wearing a couple of coats of Revlon in Holographic Pearls (can’t remember how many; I was several failed marbling attempts in by this time!). I applied one coat of Sally Hansen Extreme Wear in White On on my middle finger, then did the watermarble with Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Fuschia Power, Mellow Yellow and White On, and Sally Hansen CSM in Dark Hue-mor. I also applied a thin layer of glitter (Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Shine On) to the middle finger, along with some scattered dots using the fuschia polish. And, guess what I did next? Yes, I applied a matte top coat! 😀 Let me know how you like this look!

Check out my other looks for the weekly version of the 31-day challenge under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016].

Tell me what you think!

