Crochet · Other Hobbies

Crochet Baby Blanket

Hello, beautiful people, and Happy Saturday! It has been more than three months since I did one of my Saturday non-nail blog posts & it feels so good to be back! Here’s hoping I can get into a regular schedule again.

Today, I’m just sharing some pictures of a baby blanket I made for my (at the time-) two-month old niece. It’s a very easy pattern if you know how to crochet (if you don’t, it’s a good place to start because it uses two simple kinds of stitches), and comes together within a couple of hours if you use super-bulky yarn. In fact, I made this entire blanket in one sitting, while binge-watching nearly half of season 1 of American Horror Story! You can find the pattern for the blanket here.

I used the same yarn as the link above, Bernat Baby Blanket in Pitter Patter. I added the ruffle edging using the same super-bulky yarn in a soft off-white (I cannot recall the name), and this pattern. I love the softness the ruffles add to the blanket, but this edging eats up a lot of yarn, I warn you, so be prepared. I think I used two balls of yarn for the entire blanket, and then one & a half for the edging alone. However, I think it’s well worth the time & effort because it really completes the look, and the more yarn that goes into it, the more ruffles you get!

Let me know what you think of this blanket! Do you crochet? Will you try this out any time soon? Have a lovely weekend!

6 thoughts on “Crochet Baby Blanket

  1. Lovely blanket! My Grandma taught me how to crochet when I was a teenager; I was really into it for a while but I was never really very good at it. 😛 My problem was that I hated going back to fix mistakes so I would just shrug my shoulders and leave them in. Ha ha I think I lack the patience necessary for that pursuit! But your blanket turned out beautiful- I actually have a crocheted blanket made from the same yarn that my grandma made for my little girl when she was born.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, that’s lovely! I love this yarn! I find crochet to be soooo much more forgiving than knitting; I have made my fair share of mistakes but I can almost never tell! In fact, my husband has also contributed a few stitches (taught on the spot) to each of the three baby blankets I’ve made (including this one) & it’s very difficult to go back & find his portion!

      Like

Tell me what you think!

