31DC2017 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2017Weekly 1: Red Blobbicure

Hello, folks! I’m kicking off the weekly version of the 31-day nail art challenge 2017 (aka, 31DC2017Weekly) with a marbled blobbicure inspired by the amazing Colette (@mysimplelittlepleasures), who, in turn, credits it to Eugenia (@laqvid).

31DC2017_Red 1

Now, in case you’re wondering where the red is: I assure you, the base colour is a deep, rich burgundy with flecks of glowing red shimmer; it’s the gorgeous, glow-from-within Sinful Colours Rich in Heart. If you have been following my blog, you might know how very uncomfortable I feel wearing real red on my nails; it just does not feel me to me! In fact, I wore red nail polish all of two times last year — here and here — and that was twice too many!

31DC2017_Red 2

To get this look, I dropped blobs of blue (NYC East Village), orange (CND Vinylux Fine Vermilion) and yellow (OPI Good Grief) onto a Ziploc bag, then mixed them very slightly with a dotting tool for a marbled look. Next, I applied a thick coat of the burgundy base (Sinful Colors Rich in Heart), and while it was wet, used my dotting tool to drop large blobs of the mix of blue, orange and yellow over the base. Here’s a link to Colette’s tutorial if you want to see how it’s done. For the accent nail, I applied 3 drops of the mix in a line, then dragged a needle through them to get the hearts. This was my first blobbicure, and I just love how these colours play together. I did try the same mani with a brighter red base for this challenge, but I really didn’t like how it turned out.

Here are some close-up shots. I love how organic the marbled blobs look! And just look at all that gorgeous red shimmer! On another note, I just bought a clip-on macro lens for my cell phone this weekend, and am so thrilled with how much detail it can capture. 😀

Let me know what you think of this look! If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media, and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2017weekly. Check out all my entries for the 31DC2017Weekly under the nail art tab at Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2017, my other nail art adventures at Nails → Nail Art → NOTW, or follow me on Instagram (@altercontroldelight) which I use exclusively for nail art.

2 thoughts on “31DC2017Weekly 1: Red Blobbicure

Tell me what you think!

