31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 20: Watermarble

The prompt for this week was “watermarble” nails; another first for me! I was very intimidated by this because of the mess it seems to make and because I had read about people’s issues with getting the polish to spread on the water surface. The wonderful thing about the world today is that you get access to so many people’s experiences, and there are many wonderful people out there who like to share information. As a result, my first experience with watermarbling did not turn out half as stressful as I had expected!

I did cheat a bit — instead of dipping my fingers in the design in water, I made watermarble decals, following this video and this. To summarize the vidoes: instead of dipping my fingers into the marbled design, I let the polish dry completely on the surface of the water (about 30 minutes). Once it had dried, I fished it out of the water and soaked up any droplets on the decal/sticker. Then, I cut it up into pieces large enough to cover four fingers, and an smaller piece for the thumb. Making stickers instead of dipping your fingers has definite advantages (although perhaps it makes watermarbling less of an adventure!): it makes the clean-up process much simpler, wastes less nail polish and doesn’t require a quick call on your part as to the exact positioning of your nail because you can take your time picking out which areas you want to use after it has dried. This is what the decal looked like before I cut it up:

31DC2016Weekly - Watermarble 1

 To make the watermarble decal, I used Sally Hansen CSM in Style Is Eternal, Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Mellow Yellow and Sinful Colors in Innocent. I also used filtered water, which is supposed to make the nail polish spread more easily. FYI, I also tried out a couple of other nail polishes for watermarbling and these worked: Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Fuschia Power, White On, Black Out, Sun Kissed, Celeb City and Breezy Blue.

Here’s the big reveal; my “paint spill” manicure:

31DC2016Weekly - Watermarble 331DC2016Weekly - Watermarble 2

I started out by applying a coat of white polish (Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in White On) on all my fingers. Next, I cut out pieces from the watermarble decal and placed them over the entire nail on all four fingers, cut away the excess and cleaned up around the nails. Just as I had finished working on the four fingers, I had a sudden vision of paint pouring out onto my nails and I knew where I wanted to go with this. I had a stamping plate with an image of a cute bottle with little hearts in it that I’ve been wanting to use, and it all just clicked!

Let me know how you like this!

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly. Secondly, if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I usually add new nail art pictures to the gallery. I will not be doing this with the weekly challenge. These posts will all be available under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016], and will not be displayed in the gallery.

2 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 20: Watermarble

Tell me what you think!

