31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 25: Inspired by fashion

The prompt for this week is “inspired by fashion” and the first thought that jumped into my mind was to do a manicure based on one of the many gorgeous outfits Eva Green’s character in Penny Dreadful wears. Despite its shortcomings, I rather like the show, and I spend a sizeable portion of my time watching the show admiring her outfits! So, here it is:

I love how this turned out, even though it took a little more time than my average manicure. I’m wearing black polish (Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Black Out), with a coat of Sally Hansen Hard As Nails in Sturdy Sapphire over it. The latter is a polish I purchased at the dollar store, and it has been one of the most suprising polishes I’ve ever bought. On its own, it is a dull-ish sheer blue, but with a layer of some other colour underneath, it turns into a gorgeous, rich blue with a tint of whichever colour lies underneath! I’m not sure if this is available at other places, but this is definitely a keeper! Back to this manicure, on the ring, middle and index fingers, I took off the polish from certain areas using Amy’s technique to create some negative spaces. Next, I stamped in black (Sally Hansen Insta Dri in Black To Black) on all the nails using my lace plates, BC-01, BC-04 and BC-09. Here are some close-ups:

Finally, as you know, I like to have some fun with filters and props — I call these my “Vogue Shots” — so here’s my Vogue Shot of the week:

31DC2016Weekly - Fashion 7

If you would like to join in this weekly nail art challenge, post your pictures on your blog or other social media and tag the picture with the hashtag #31dc2016weekly. Check out my other looks for the weekly version of the 31-day challenge under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016].

4 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 25: Inspired by fashion

Tell me what you think!

