31DC2016 · Nail Art · Nails

31DC2016Weekly 31: Honour nails you ♥

The 31DCWeekly is over today. Even though this was spread over a couple of months, it really did seem to fly by! This was my first nail art challenge ever, and it was so much fun. The prompt for the last day of the challenge is to recreate someone else’s manicure, inspired either by a particular manicure or a nail artist that you love.

I’ve recreated this gorgeous manicure by Amy McG at Polish Etc. She did this for the delicate print prompt for the 31DC2016Weekly earlier this year and I absolutely loved it. It reminds me of a really cool mermaid scale manicure that I’d seen somewhere but cannot find anymore. I decided to change up the colour scheme a little bit, going with a darker base instead. I stamped using the UR Beautiful plate #09 from Aliexpress (the seller I bought it from does not seem to be selling it anymore) and I believe it’s a dupe for an Uber Chic plate from the Far East collection.

31dc2016weekly-honor-131dc2016weekly-honor-2

The base colour is a single coat of Sally Hansen CSM in Dark Hue-mor, a deep navy blue. Over that, I sponged on a layer of flakies (Revlon in Cosmic Flakies). I topped that with two coats of my inky blue jelly frankenpolish (see this for details). I stamped over that with silver (Born Pretty stamping polish #2). Finally, I topped it all with some matte top coat. This is one of my favourite looks ever, difficult as it is to photograph! I am absolutely in love with the subtle flakies underneath the jelly layer. Let me know what you think of this!

31dc2016weekly-honor-3

That’s it for the 31DC for this year! Maybe I’ll attempt the actual daily version next year 😀

Check out my other looks for the weekly version of the 31-day challenge under the nail art tab [Nails → Nail Art → 31DC2016].

2 thoughts on “31DC2016Weekly 31: Honour nails you ♥

Tell me what you think!

